Thursday, October 29, 2009

Kapamilya shows and stars bag the most number of Star Awards nominations

ABS-CBN received the most number of nominations from the Philippine Movie Press Club for this year’s Star Awards for Television. Five Kapamilya teleseryes are nominated for the Best Primetime Series category, namely "Eva Fonda", "Iisa Pa Lamang", "Kahit Isang Saglit", "May Bukas Pa", and "Tayong Dalawa". "Kahit Isang Saglit" just recently bagged a Best Telenovela nomination from the International Emmy Awards, while "Eva Fonda" won as Best Drama at the Seoul International Drama Awards.

Meanwhile in the Best Daytime Drama Series category, two episodes of "Precious Hearts Romances presents Bud Brothers" are nominated, namely "Stupid Cupid" starring Jake Cuenca and Cristine Reyes, and "Pepper’s Roses" starring Kaye Abad and Guji Lorenzana. The afternoon teleserye "Pieta" and "Ligaw Na Bulaklak" have also been nominated.

Kapamilya actresses also ruled the Best Drama Actress category: Claudine Barretto, Angelica Panganiban, and Cherry Pie Picache for "Iisa Pa Lamang"; Agot Isidro and Gina Pareño for "Tayong Dalawa"; Angel Locsin for "Only You"; and Cristine Reyes for "Eva Fonda". Cristine also got a nomination for Best Actress at the Seoul International Drama Awards for Eva Fonda.

Six Kapamilya male stars will compete for the Best Drama Actor award. Christopher De Leon and Jericho Rosales for Kahit Isang Saglit, Coco Martin for Tayong Dalawa, Diether Ocampo for Iisa Pa Lamang, Albert Martinez for May Bukas Pa, and Gerald Anderson for Your Song presents My Only Hope.

"Maalaala Mo Kaya" is again nominated as Best Drama Anthology. The show also earned nominations for ten Kapamilya stars for their respective episodes in the drama program. For Best Single Performance by an Actor: John Lloyd Cruz (Pedicab), Vice Ganda (Bola), Joross Gamboa (Bisikleta), Albert Martinez (Bisikleta), Diether Ocampo (Lambat), and John Wayne Sace (Chess). For Best Single Performance by an Actress: Gretchen Barretto (Salamin), Alessandra De Rossi (Pedicab), Judy Ann Santos (Lason), and Lorna Tolentino (Chess). Carmina Villaroel is also nominated for her performance in the Reseta episode.

Three chapters of Your Song Presents will vie for the Best Drama Mini-Series award, namely Someone Like You, My Only Hope, and Boystown. Also, five chapters of Komiks Presents Mars Ravelo are nominated as Best Horror/Fantasy Program, namely Varga, Tiny Tony, Dragonna, Flash Bomba, and Nasaan Ka Maruja?

Banana Split got a nomination as Best Gag Show with stars Jayson Gainza and Pooh up for Best Comedy Actor and Angelica Panganiban and Pokwang for Best Comedy Actress. Child star Sharlene San Pedro of Goin’ Bulilit is also nominated as Best Comedy Actress. Parekoy is also nominated as Best Comedy Show.

Morning talk show Ruffa and Ai and its predecessor Boy and Kris are both nominated as Best Celebrity Talk Show while hosts Boy Abunda, Kris Aquino, Ruffa Gutierrez, and Ai-Ai de las Alas also got nominations. Sharon Cuneta and her Sunday night talk show were also nominated. In the showbiz talk category, The Buzz, Entertainment Live, and SNN: Showbiz News Ngayon will vie for the Best Showbiz Oriented Talk Show award. Nominated hosts are Luis Manzano, Toni Gonzaga, Mariel Rodriguez, and Bianca Gonzales of Entertainment Live; Boy Abunda of SNN; and Kris Aquino of The Buzz.

Wowowee and Pilipinas, Game K N B? are both nominated in the Best Variety/Game Show category, with respective hosts Valerie Concepcion and Edu Manzano each getting a nod. Kris Aquino is also nominated as host of game show Kapamilya: Deal or No Deal. ASAP is nominated for Best Musical Variety Show with its hosts Toni Gonzaga and Luis Manzano each getting a nomination for the Sunday Kapamilya program.

New Kapamilya talents also received nominations. For Best Female TV Personality: Maricar Reyes (Bud Brothers) and Carmen Soo (Kahit Isang Saglit); while for Best Male TV Personality: Zaijan Jaranilla (May Bukas Pa), Xian Lim (My Only Hope), Guji Lorenzana (Bud Brothers), and Jose Sarasola (Only You).

Veteran director and Star Magic head Johnny Manahan will be receiving the Ading Fernando Lifetime Achievement Award. The same recognition was given to ABS-CBN President Charo Santo-Concio in 2007. The Kapamilya network will again vie for the Best TV Station award. The 23rd PMPC Star Awards for Television will be held on November 29.


No comments: