Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Pinoy rock stars unite for “Ako ang Simula.”

Singer-songwriter Rico Blanco, Imago vocalist Aia De Leon, and Sandwich frontman Raimund Marasigan joined forces to urge Filipinos to participate actively in preparations for the 2010 elections. The three rock artists collaborated in the theme song of ABS-CBN’s election campaign entitled “Ako ang Simula.”

The song which was written by ABS-CBN creative director Ira Zabat and composed by Mike Villegas talks about initiative to start the change in the country. A key element in the song is the drumbeat heard in all “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo” plugs since the campaign was first launched in 2007. The drumbeat suggests unity and the urgent call for action.

The song’s lyrics have words like “Wag nang mahimbing sa sariling mundo/Wag nang iwaldas ang dekadang bago/Ako ang tutupad sa pangakong ito/Ako ang Simula ng pagbabago.” (Don’t rest in your own world/ Don’t waste another decade/ I will be the one to fulfill this promise/I will be the start of change)

ABS-CBN Newsgathering Head Charie Villa added, “We want to tell the youth that there is no time to waste. The change you want for the country can happen now, and it can start from you. The youth, as the largest voting sector, can turn this country around. They can do it and they should.”

The “Ako ang Simula” music video will be shown on Thursday (June 11) during the Kapamilya network’s annual flag-raising ceremony from 9:55 a.m. to 10:10 a.m. on ABS-CBN. The video was conceptualized and executed by the ABS-CBN’s Creative Communications Management.

Meanwhile, “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo: Ako ang Simula” will make a repeat of its groundbreaking May 11 multiplatform launch on Friday (June 12), the Philippines’ Independence Day.

“We have one year to change traditional politics in our country. We can do this if we act and stay vigilant as early as now,” ABS-CBN Senior Vice President for News and Current Affairs Maria Ressa said.

Source: abs-cbnnews.com

No comments: